Home » Uncategorized » #Palms Up and ALL – CLEAR Message: Focus!

#Palms Up and ALL – CLEAR Message: Focus!

Hands up to God during a worship service…. sounds easy… looks beautiful…in my head, kinda SCARY!  What is it about that simple gesture that stresses me out?  Is it that someone might see?  Or is it because to truly raise my hands and open my palms means to really and truly open myself up to God?    Am I intentionally holding myself back from God?  Why would I do that?  I love my Father!  I am amazed at the fact that no matter what I do, He is always going to be there for me!  Silly to think that I would be keeping myself from a deeper relationship with Him.

In the last few weeks, I have been reading a book called MY ONE WORD by Mike Ashcraft and Rachel Olsen.  (It’s great!)  The idea is to discover one word God wants you to focus on for a time period.  God pointed me so very clearly to a particular word.  I should not have been surprised that when I started the Online Bible Study this week with Proverbs 31 Ministries, He reminded me of my word with this whole #PalmsUp idea.  (I love hashtags BTW!) 

My word is FOCUS.  When I am focused on Him, I am in the palms up position in my head and heart even if I am not physically in it.

A few days before August (and the OBS) started, I very clearly heard God tell me I needed to fast from a few things I love for the month.  He wants my focus.  He wants my All.

The reflection verse:  Deuteronomy 6:5.  “Love the Lord MY God with ALL MY heart and with ALL MY soul and with ALL MY strength.”  I made it a little more personal.  It works!

#PalmsUp, ALL, focus:  God is clearly trying to get my attention.  Those three things have been in my thoughts and my heart.  I know who put them there.  (I also know when the enemy tries to make me forget them or twist them around.)

I may still never raise my hands during a worship service at church, but I am working at keeping my focus on Him.  I am opening my heart to Him.  I am saying, “YES GOD!  Whatever you want me to do, I will do it.”  And I mean it!  I will give it all to Him always… my heart, my soul, my strength… focused… and with my palms raised open to Him!  

Lisa 🙂 

 

5 thoughts on “#Palms Up and ALL – CLEAR Message: Focus!

  1. Lisa,
    Thank you for your post! I think of myself and my struggles when you discuss not wanting to put your “hands up” in church. I was raised Non-Denominational Christian in an Open Bible Church. I loved the services and yet putting my hands up was hard to do. I met my husband at the young age of 17 and a year later we were married. My husband is Catholic and I converted soon after. The Catholic Church was different for me and the “hands up” tradition is not really practiced here. Sometimes, gestures can become very personal. They do not define us though. One day you may find your hands up and you don’t even think about it. I think that if it doesn’t happen your dedication to God is all that he is looking at anyway.
    I too have been fasting. I choose one thing a day and when it crosses my mind I am trying to pray more and rely on God for my needs. I believe fasting is really important as well. It shows that we are in control of our body and mind and not the other way around. Thanks again for sharing!

Leave a Reply

