Home » Uncategorized » My Favorite Verse

My Favorite Verse

As I prepared for this new year, I read the book MY ONE WORD by Mike Ashcraft and Rachel Olsen.  I have always set New Year’s Resolutions and have always failed.  I liked the idea of the one word focus… and my word came pretty easy.  My word is JOY,  I have always been a Christian, but have realized that I was a pretty wishy washy one for a long time.  I was often missing the joy of the Lord  inside me.  I was choosing to NOT be joyful… and to let outside circumstances control my me.  What an open door for Satan!  

My goal with my word is to remember to always be searching for and keeping the joy inside me that does not come from others, food, trips, etc… but from my Jesus.  I have not allowed Him to REALLY let His light shine in me.  That time is gone… I am actively focused on having that joy through all life has to throw at me. 

That brings me to my focus verse of the year.  “Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior.” ~ Habakkuk 3:17-18. 

No matter what–I WILL LET HIS JOY GLOW IN ME!  I will rejoice!  I will be joyful!  NO MATTER WHAT!

It is where I want to be.  It is who I want to be.  It is what I will be!

This year:  I will find His joy in me, no matter what the year brings.  I know that won’t be easy and I won’t be able to do this on my own.  I will be praying endlessly to get myself there and to keep myself there.  I am just going to open that door and I know God will get me there!  That’s what is important.  I will stumble, but He will be there to pick me up, carry me and remind me to take the joy He is giving.  I am so thankful for that! 

Lisa 🙂

8 thoughts on “My Favorite Verse

  1. Thank you for sharing your story. We all need more joy in our life and it is amazing to hear you speak of it in that way. 🙂 Let’s rock the OBS!!!!

  2. Lisa, Thank you so much for sharing and I love the word of the year. Joy is powerful and I am praying that your joy will be made complete in HIm. Love the verse as well. Great Job!
    Vashti (OBS Team Leader)

  3. Hi, I am dropping in from the BlogHop. I didn’t know there was a book called “My One Word”, but last year found a group of bloggers who do a “One Word” in place of a resolution every year. Last year the Lord really used my One Word to grow me in Him, and I’m prayful He will do the same this year. I’m excited because I feel He has brought this Bible Study to me at the perfect time, when I would be most able to absorb it and grow from it. Looking forward to the study with you and the rest of the community joining in!

  4. I started with OLW several years ago and have found that focusing on just one word made all the difference in my life. Last year I chose “Grateful” and it made me so much more aware of all the little things that God has blessed me with. This year I chose “Embrace”. I want to embrace all that I have in my life and I think that participating in this Bible Study is a good way to start embracing my growth in my faith. Thanks for sharing your Joy and I pray that you will find much joy in each and every day this year.

  5. Great job Lisa. You did a great job. I think Joy is something we all need to focus more on. Focusing on one word is an awesome concept. I will have to think about that.

  6. Wow, two years ago my word was Joy. I finally realize how angry I was and did not want to be in that place any more. So, I’m really looking forward this Bible study but I’m very much intimidated by all the tech stuff (blogs and twitter)

  7. Joy is a great word, I am going to use it also. My husband is a very negative person and through our marriage my own attitudes have been negative finding faults with everything. Since starting this study, I know that God will provide.

  8. This is exactly where I am. Wow, can I be moody and unhappy. I hide my lack of joy often but is still coming through to others. I hate it because I know this is not how it is supposed to be. I even teach Bible study but struggle with being a hypocrite at home. I desire to be joyful for my kids. We homeschool and it is the hardest thing I’ve ever done. I have so much growing to do. I pray God becomes my only pursuit. I look forward to this journey with you!

Leave a Reply

